Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout

Let’s talk about how hot that guy on the cover is…I mean…wow! There are so many more reasons to read Obsidian besides the eye candy on the cover. While a bit raunchy in parts, Armentrout weaves an excellent story about a relatable girl and the obnoxious hottie/alien that lives next door. Jennifer L. Armentrout fills this new series with snark and sass — two of my favorite things — making this a definite must-read!

51bkiyy3zel-_sx326_bo1204203200_

Starting over sucks. When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up. And then he opened his mouth.Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens. The hot alien living next door marks me. You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is.

New Releases

A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHY by SABAA TAHIR

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING SEQUEL TO AN EMBER IN THE ASHES

Elias and Laia are running for their lives.

After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire.
 
61vijfkfpdl-_sx324_bo1204203200_Laia is determined to break into Kauf—the Empire’s most secure and dangerous prison—to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars’ survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom.
 
But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene—Elias’s former friend and the Empire’s newest Blood Shrike.

Bound to Marcus’s will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own—one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape…and kill them both.


THE CROOKED KINGDOM by LEIGH BARDUGO

The highly anticipated sequel to the thrilling #1 New York Times-bestselling Six of Crows.5128y9fecal-_sx328_bo1204203200_

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.


THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR by KATHARINE McGEE

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.

A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.416i1ianpul-_sx323_bo1204203200_

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall….

 

Twilight by Meg Cabot

This is one of my favorite books by Meg Cabot. Throughout high school I frequently told everyone I knew that Twilight (THE MEDIATOR, not the vampire one) was my favorite book and they should drop everything they were doing and read it. Like now. It’s the last one in the series (at least with Suze as a teenager) and the rest of the books are just as good. Having Twilight as the finale made this one of my favorite series of all time.

517bekn9b3l._sx307_bo1_204_203_200_

Suze has gotten used to ghosts. She’s a mediator, after all, and communicating with the dead is all in a day’s work. So she certainly never expected to fall in love with one: Jesse, a nineteenth- century hottie. But when she discovers that she has the power to determine who becomes a ghost in the first place, Suze begins to freak. It means she can alter the course of history … and prevent Jesse’s murder, keeping him from ever becoming a ghost — and from ever meeting Suze.

Will Jesse choose to live without her, or die to love her?

Killer Instinct by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Jennifer Lynn Barnes rocks. That is all. Killer Instinct is perfect for mystery fans like myself that don’t particularly enjoy all the blood and gore. Her quick writing has a way of making you turn the page long after everyone else has gone to bed. PLUS, she’s getting her PhD. She’s like Wonder Woman. But cooler ’cause she can write.

51p8_vryxol._sx329_bo1_204_203_200_Seventeen-year-old Cassie Hobbes has a gift for profiling people. Her talent has landed her a spot in an elite FBI program for teens with innate crime-solving abilities, and into some harrowing situations. After barely escaping a confrontation with an unbalanced killer obsessed with her mother’s murder, Cassie hopes she and the rest of the team can stick to solving cold cases from a distance.

But when victims of a brutal new serial killer start turning up, the Naturals are pulled into an active case that strikes too close to home: the killer is a perfect copycat of Dean’s incarcerated father-a man he’d do anything to forget. Forced deeper into a murderer’s psyche than ever before, will the Naturals be able to outsmart the enigmatic killer’s brutal mind games before this copycat twists them into his web for good?

With her trademark wit, brilliant plotting, and twists that no one will see coming, Jennifer Lynn Barnes will keep readers on the edge of their seats (and looking over their shoulders) as they race through the pages of this thrilling novel.

Champion by Marie Lu

If you haven’t already read this series then you’re seriously behind the times. Champion is the final installment of the Legend series and it does not disappoint. So many times the third book in a trilogy doesn’t live up to the first two, but Marie Lu’s concluding novel is pretty much epic. And my opinion has nothing to do with the fact I was reading it while lying on a beach in Mexico. Really. 😉

champion-coverThe explosive finale to Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?  
 
June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.