The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

I love these books. This is the second book in The Winner’s trilogy and it’s as good as the first. I love the way Marie Rutkoski writes. She makes it easy for you to fall in love with the characters and she immerses you in the story in a way that makes you feel like you’re right alongside them. I <3 her!

 

Following your heart can be a crime

A royal wedding is what most girls dream about. It means one celebration after another: balls, fireworks, and revelry until dawn. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement: that she agreed to marry the crown prince in exchange for Arin’s freedom. But can Kestrel trust Arin? Can she even trust 51qxastpbvlherself? For Kestrel is becoming very good at deception. She’s working as a spy in the court. If caught, she’ll be exposed as a traitor to her country. Yet she can’t help searching for a way to change her ruthless world . . . and she is close to uncovering a shocking secret.
This dazzling follow-up to The Winner’s Curse reveals the high price of dangerous lies and untrustworthy alliances. The truth will come out, and when it does, Kestrel and Arin will learn just how much their crimes will cost them.

Beyond the Cover-Author Interview with Brenda Drake

I first learned of Brenda at RT15 when she led a session. The session was a panel of agents and editors and Brenda did a fantastic job of being the moderator. It wasn’t until I checked out her website after the session that I realized that she’s kind of a big deal. She’s the founder of PitchWars — which you should all try to be a part of if you haven’t already — but more than that, she’s just an all around good person. You can tell from the second you meet her that she’s amazing. Check out her latest book Thief of Lies and pre-order the second book Guardian of Secrets.

 

Brenda Drake

  1. What is your favorite author quote?

Growing up, my parents had an old collection of Mark Twain books. There are many authors I love, but Mark Twain is one author who has some of the most profound quotes. My favorite of his is… “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

  1. What is the most valuable piece of writing (or other) advice that you’ve ever been given?

Read. A lot. It really is true that to be an author, you must read many books by different authors. Reading will teach you how to write and open your mind to finding your own voice.

  1. What is the first idea you ever had for a book?

My first idea for a book was when I was a young girl. Most my stories were about animals, naturally. But my first novel I completed (many were given up before finishing) was a disaster. It was a horrible story—a Narnia type of book with portals and creatures. But I learned a lot about writing while creating that manuscript and I discovered I could finish a novel. I call that first one my practice novel. And it’s probably, with all its horribleness, my favorite one because of what it taught me and because I had so much fun writing it.

  1. Which character was the most fun to write?

This is such a difficult question. I have fun with all my characters. When I don’t like them, I cut them out or kill them. Ha! But seriously, I think it has been Gia in the Library Jumpers series. She’s a combination of many girls I love in my life. When I’m in her head, I can relive the joys I’ve had with my girls.

  1. Describe your dream writing/reading space:

My dream writing space would be a comfortable office with large picturesque windows and endless views of the Land of Enchantment. It’s where I write now. So I guess I’ve accomplished my dream.

  1. Why did you decide to become an author?

I’ve been a storyteller since I was girl. I’m not sure it was ever a decision. It just came to me. Taking the next step to get my work published, came after I married my husband and became a stay-at-home mom. I needed something for me, and writing filed that need.

  1. Have you ever accidentally dropped a book in the tub? If so, what was it?

No. If that had ever happened to me, I would’ve been devastated. But I could imagine a book I would drop. It would have to be one that would scare the begeebers out of me like Salem’s Lot or It by Stephen King.

 

Thanks, Brenda, for stopping by! We loved having you!

The One by Kiera Cass

Unless you’ve been deaf, dumb, and blind for the past few years you’ve probably seen and heard tons about this series. Needless to say — it’s amazing. It’s one of the few trilogies that I can honestly say the third book is just as good or better than the first. Start with The Selection (obvs) and you’ll reach The One in no time because you won’t be able to put it down.

 

The beautifully romantic third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales, and is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie’s Matched, or Lauren Oliver’s Delirium.

Entering the Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s m513fqmljf4l-_sx330_bo1204203200_ade her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Includes a sneak peek at The Heir, the highly anticipated fourth book in the Selection series!

Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout

Let’s talk about how hot that guy on the cover is…I mean…wow! There are so many more reasons to read Obsidian besides the eye candy on the cover. While a bit raunchy in parts, Armentrout weaves an excellent story about a relatable girl and the obnoxious hottie/alien that lives next door. Jennifer L. Armentrout fills this new series with snark and sass — two of my favorite things — making this a definite must-read!

51bkiyy3zel-_sx326_bo1204203200_

Starting over sucks. When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up. And then he opened his mouth.Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens. The hot alien living next door marks me. You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Twilight by Meg Cabot

This is one of my favorite books by Meg Cabot. Throughout high school I frequently told everyone I knew that Twilight (THE MEDIATOR, not the vampire one) was my favorite book and they should drop everything they were doing and read it. Like now. It’s the last one in the series (at least with Suze as a teenager) and the rest of the books are just as good. Having Twilight as the finale made this one of my favorite series of all time.

517bekn9b3l._sx307_bo1_204_203_200_

Suze has gotten used to ghosts. She’s a mediator, after all, and communicating with the dead is all in a day’s work. So she certainly never expected to fall in love with one: Jesse, a nineteenth- century hottie. But when she discovers that she has the power to determine who becomes a ghost in the first place, Suze begins to freak. It means she can alter the course of history … and prevent Jesse’s murder, keeping him from ever becoming a ghost — and from ever meeting Suze.

Will Jesse choose to live without her, or die to love her?