The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

I love these books. This is the second book in The Winner’s trilogy and it’s as good as the first. I love the way Marie Rutkoski writes. She makes it easy for you to fall in love with the characters and she immerses you in the story in a way that makes you feel like you’re right alongside them. I <3 her!

 

Following your heart can be a crime

A royal wedding is what most girls dream about. It means one celebration after another: balls, fireworks, and revelry until dawn. But to Kestrel it means living in a cage of her own making. As the wedding approaches, she aches to tell Arin the truth about her engagement: that she agreed to marry the crown prince in exchange for Arin’s freedom. But can Kestrel trust Arin? Can she even trust 51qxastpbvlherself? For Kestrel is becoming very good at deception. She’s working as a spy in the court. If caught, she’ll be exposed as a traitor to her country. Yet she can’t help searching for a way to change her ruthless world . . . and she is close to uncovering a shocking secret.
This dazzling follow-up to The Winner’s Curse reveals the high price of dangerous lies and untrustworthy alliances. The truth will come out, and when it does, Kestrel and Arin will learn just how much their crimes will cost them.

Beyond the Cover-Author Interview with Brenda Drake

I first learned of Brenda at RT15 when she led a session. The session was a panel of agents and editors and Brenda did a fantastic job of being the moderator. It wasn’t until I checked out her website after the session that I realized that she’s kind of a big deal. She’s the founder of PitchWars — which you should all try to be a part of if you haven’t already — but more than that, she’s just an all around good person. You can tell from the second you meet her that she’s amazing. Check out her latest book Thief of Lies and pre-order the second book Guardian of Secrets.

 

Brenda Drake

  1. What is your favorite author quote?

Growing up, my parents had an old collection of Mark Twain books. There are many authors I love, but Mark Twain is one author who has some of the most profound quotes. My favorite of his is… “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

  1. What is the most valuable piece of writing (or other) advice that you’ve ever been given?

Read. A lot. It really is true that to be an author, you must read many books by different authors. Reading will teach you how to write and open your mind to finding your own voice.

  1. What is the first idea you ever had for a book?

My first idea for a book was when I was a young girl. Most my stories were about animals, naturally. But my first novel I completed (many were given up before finishing) was a disaster. It was a horrible story—a Narnia type of book with portals and creatures. But I learned a lot about writing while creating that manuscript and I discovered I could finish a novel. I call that first one my practice novel. And it’s probably, with all its horribleness, my favorite one because of what it taught me and because I had so much fun writing it.

  1. Which character was the most fun to write?

This is such a difficult question. I have fun with all my characters. When I don’t like them, I cut them out or kill them. Ha! But seriously, I think it has been Gia in the Library Jumpers series. She’s a combination of many girls I love in my life. When I’m in her head, I can relive the joys I’ve had with my girls.

  1. Describe your dream writing/reading space:

My dream writing space would be a comfortable office with large picturesque windows and endless views of the Land of Enchantment. It’s where I write now. So I guess I’ve accomplished my dream.

  1. Why did you decide to become an author?

I’ve been a storyteller since I was girl. I’m not sure it was ever a decision. It just came to me. Taking the next step to get my work published, came after I married my husband and became a stay-at-home mom. I needed something for me, and writing filed that need.

  1. Have you ever accidentally dropped a book in the tub? If so, what was it?

No. If that had ever happened to me, I would’ve been devastated. But I could imagine a book I would drop. It would have to be one that would scare the begeebers out of me like Salem’s Lot or It by Stephen King.

 

Thanks, Brenda, for stopping by! We loved having you!

The One by Kiera Cass

Unless you’ve been deaf, dumb, and blind for the past few years you’ve probably seen and heard tons about this series. Needless to say — it’s amazing. It’s one of the few trilogies that I can honestly say the third book is just as good or better than the first. Start with The Selection (obvs) and you’ll reach The One in no time because you won’t be able to put it down.

 

The beautifully romantic third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales, and is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie’s Matched, or Lauren Oliver’s Delirium.

Entering the Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s m513fqmljf4l-_sx330_bo1204203200_ade her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Includes a sneak peek at The Heir, the highly anticipated fourth book in the Selection series!

Beyond the Cover-Author Interview with Jami Wagner

I met Jami a couple years ago at RT15. I met her and Dana Volney on the flight from Salt Lake to Dallas and we ended up taking a cab together to the hotel. We all instantly became friends and they’ll never know how nice it felt to have someone to talk to. It was my first conference and I was so nervous, but Jami and Dana let me be their friend and I’m eternally grateful to them.

Jami is the kind of friend I wish I’d had in high school — that friend who is supportive to the point that she’ll will kick anyone’s butt who makes you feel less than amazing. Check out her fun author interview below and take a look at her Black Alcove series!

 

Jami Wagner

  1. What is your favorite author quote?

“The scariest moment is always just before you start.” ― Stephen King

I even use this quote in my first Black Alcove series novel, Just One Kiss. To me, it applies to much more in life than just writing.

  1. What is the most valuable piece of writing (or other) advice that you’ve ever been given?

As cliché as it sounds, the best piece of advice I’ve ever been given is that just because your book isn’t right for one person doesn’t mean it won’t be for the next. I remember the first time I heard that. I thought it was just a polite way to turn me down, but after a while I realized how true those words were.  People will either enjoy or not enjoy your books. Every person is different and even though you wrote the book, each person who reads them, will interpret the story in their own way.

  1. What is the first idea you ever had for a book?

The first idea I ever had for a book was about two girls right out of high school who wanted to take a road trip to learn what the world had to offer them. I wrote quite a bit in their story, but sadly dropped my external hard drive (the one my dad gave me that would hold an obscene amount of files) with everything I’d ever written in my first year of writing. It shattered and I had to start all over, minus a few scenes I wrote and emailed to myself. Someday, I plan to come back to that original story, but till then, I will always always backup my files. Maybe even have a backup for my backup.

  1. Which character was the most fun to write?

Beth Moyer. She is the heroine in my next novel, Just One Spark. She has no filter which gives me more freedom than any of my other characters have at this point.

  1. Describe your dream writing/reading space:

I don’t really have a dream writing space. As long as no one is trying to have a conversation with me while I’m writing, I can write anywhere. If I had to pick, though, I’d choose a place outside (doesn’t matter where), in the sun with no wind, and no glare shining off my computer screen.

My dream reading space would be any spot where I can curl up and read distraction free. Where time isn’t an issue and going to bed because I have to get up and go to work the next day doesn’t exist.

  1. Why did you decide to become an author?

I haven’t always been a reader or writer. One Christmas my sister gave me a novel by Jamie McGuire. I read and finished that book in one day and something clicked. The way this author made me feel was incredible. She made me feel like I was in a different world, living a different life. That’s when I decided that I wanted to create that feeling for others. So I started to read more and then I started to write. I haven’t been able to stop since.

 

Thanks, Jami, for stopping by! Everyone be sure to check out her website and her latest book Just One Moment.

Writing Tip of the Week-Picking Point of View

one-way-street-1113973_1920Before writing any story you should consider which point of view you would like to use. Whatever you choose will determine the tone and outcome of your novel. If your book were written in 1st person and then you wrote the same story presented in 3rd person you would have 2 completely different books. Roz Morris (author and editor) offers a few pointers to help you decide what to use on her blog Nail Your Novel. Her first point is pretty straightforward, if your novel is more about the characters and their development use First Person. If your novel is more about events then use Third person. However, if your plot/story is a little more complicated and you want to be more creative with point of view she addresses these concerns as well. Read the full article here.

Rock that writing!

 

The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia-NOW AVAILABLE!

This book was released yesterday! Can’t wait to read it. Kami Garcia is one of my favorite authors. It can be purchased via Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Google Play, IndieBound, iBooks, and Kobo.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Kami Garcia, a contemporary romance full of loss, love and redemption…

51npmpkdkkl._sx331_bo1_204_203_200_

Seventeen year-old Frankie Devereux would do anything to forget the past. Haunted by the memory of her boyfriend’s death, she lives her life by one dangerous rule: nothing matters. At least, that’s what Frankie tells herself after a reckless mistake forces her to leave her privileged life in the Heights to move in with her dad―an undercover cop. She transfers to public school in the Downs, where fistfights in the halls don’t faze anyone and illegal street racing is more popular than football.

Marco Leone is the fastest street racer in the Downs. Tough, sexy, and hypnotic, he makes it impossible for Frankie to ignore him…and how he makes her feel. But the risks Marco takes for his family could have devastating consequences for them both. When Frankie discovers his secret, she has to make a choice. Will she let the pain of the past determine her future? Or will she risk what little she has left to follow her heart?